School Programmes

School Programmes 2011 / 2012

The National Gallery, SA Museum & Planetarium, Slave Lodge, Bo-Kaap Museum

Contact Information

Planetarium Manager

Theo Ferreira
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3901
Email: tferreira@iziko.org.za

Senior Art Educator

Annette Loubser
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3961
Email: aloubser@iziko.org.za 

Art Educator

Kathy Coates
Tel: +27 (0)21 467 4669
Email: kcoates@iziko.org.za

Senior Natural History Educator

Lisa Combrink
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3952
Email: lcombrink@iziko.org.za

Social History Educators

Nadjwa Jones
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3817
Email: njones@iziko.org.za

Laetitia Swanepoel
Tel: +27 (0)21 467 7227
Email: lswanepoel@iziko.org.za

Castle Museum Educator

Lungile Gadezweni
Tel: +27 (0)21 464 1270
Email: lgadezweni@iziko.org.za

Public Programmes Coordinator

Wandile Kasibe
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3804
Email: wkasibe@iziko.org.za

Museum Outreach Officer

Sthembele Harmans
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3812
Email: sharmans@iziko.org.za

Discovery Room

Anton Van Wyk
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3924
Email: avanwyk@iziko.org.za

Mindspace Resource Centre

Lucy Williams
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3840
Email: lwilliams@iziko.org.za

Programme Booking Assistant

Lungelwa Mvimbi
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3823
Email: Lmvimbi@iziko.org.za

Art Collections Library

Maureen Chiware
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3977
Email: sdante@iziko.org.za

Natural History Collections Library

Cindy April
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 3898
Email: capril@iziko.org.za

Social History Collections Library

Nontshumayelo Mki
Tel: +27 (0)21 467 7207
Email: nmki@iziko.org.za

Pre-visit preparation guide

For specialised  lessons , tours or workshops, please contact the relevant educator, at least ten days before your visit,  to discuss the lesson content , possible worksheets and proposed programme for the day.

How to book for these activities

  1. Please select your programme from this brochure.
  2. All Iziko EPP programmes are subject to change.
  3. Call Lungelwa Mvimbi (021) 481 3823, preferably between 08:30 and 13h00, to secure a booking.       
  4. You should receive confirmation of your booking by fax and /or telephone within three working days.
  5. Please ensure that your group is in possession of the faxed Confirmation Form on arrival at the museum.
  6. Fees charged depend on the programme selected. School groups from R2.00 per learner.

Additional information regarding the Planetarium

  • Presentation times: Monday to Friday at 09:00, 10:15, 11:30 and 12:45 during school term (excluding 1st Monday of the month).
  • The planetarium seating capacity is 140.
  • You will be required to pay for your booking at least 10 days before the date booked.
  • R6. 00 per person for pupils, teachers and accompanying adults.
  • Booking is essential! 

When visiting the museums

  • Feel welcomed
  • Read and listen to the narratives
  • Ask questions and share your ideas
  • Know that some objects and artworks may not be touched
  • Ask permission before taking photographs
  • Visit our website for museum information (www.iziko.org.za
  • Respect other visitors, so no running or shouting
  • Museum facilities are for all visitors, so keep it clean and tidy
  • Eating is not allowed in the museum
  • Enjoy, share and learn